Flamboyan Congratulates Standing Ovation Winners

December 11, 2015 11:11 AM
by / Topics: Improving Family Engagement

As we near the end of 2015, school communities and educators from across the District of Columbia have been anxiously anticipating the Standing Ovation award committee’s announcement of the 2015 winners. The Standing Ovation committee has recently announced this year’s winners and Flamboyan Foundation is thrilled to congratulate Burville Elementary School, C.W. Harris Elementary School, teacher Constance Thayer, and Principal Kim Jackson for being named in the top eight recipients of the 2015 Standing Ovation awards. It also congratulates Sarah McLaughlin and James Davis for being named Rubenstein award winners.

C.W. Harris Elementary School, a Flamboyan Family Engagement Partnership (FEP) school, will receive a new schoolwide award. The Excellence in Family Engagement Award honors a school that has shown a commitment to positive partnerships between teachers and families and maintains strong systems for collaboration with parent leaders. Importantly, the winner has demonstrated strong, trusting relationships with all its students’ families, and has partnered with families from diverse backgrounds to support and communicate regularly about student success. Heather Hairston, principal of C.W. Harris Elementary School, will accept the award on behalf of the school.

Burville Elementary School, another Flamboyan FEP school, will also receive a new schoolwide award. The Excellence in School Innovation Award recognizes a high-performing and innovative school community that has exhibited sustained efforts to improve school culture and student satisfaction through innovative approaches that support all of its student’s achievement. Principal of Burville Elementary, Tui Roper, will accept the award on behalf of the school.

Kim Jackson is the Principal of Seaton Elementary School, a high performing Flamboyan Family Engagement Partnership school.  She will be honored as Principal of the Year for her exemplary leadership at Seaton and for creating a positive and inclusive culture of high expectations that allows students to form strong cross-cultural bonds.

Constance Thayer is a Flamboyan family engagement teacher trainer and a teacher at Beers Elementary School. She has been honored with the Teacher Award for Excellence in Service, for her commitment to not only her school, but also the broader community, by making a significant and positive impact on school climate, culture, partnerships, and student outcomes.

Sarah McLaughlin, a teacher at Seaton Elementary and James Davis, a staff member at Beers Elementary School — two FEP schools — will be honored with Rubenstein Awards, for Highly Effective Teaching and for Highly Effective School Staff, respectively.

The sixth annual Standing Ovation award ceremony is set to spotlight all awardees on February 1, 2016. School Excellence honorees will receive a $25,000 prize, individual Excellence honorees will be awarded $10,000, and Rubenstein award winners receive a $5,000 prize. Flamboyan Foundation is excited to be not only the proud sponsor of the Standing Ovation award ceremony, but also a proud partner of some of the top award recipients.